Undergraduate Students

Select an option below to view tuition rates for undergraduate students at NC State.

Tuition and Fee rates will not be final until the North Carolina Legislature Passes the Budget Bill.

It is the student’s responsibility to review charges on their student account after registration.

An additional $1,270 Mandatory Health Insurance charge will be included on your account unless you waive out of the semester premium charge. Price is subject to change pending DOI approval.

Residents of North Carolina

Hours Tuition Required Fees * Campus Security Fee Total
0-5 $816.88 $311.58 $3.75 $1,132.21
6-8 1,633.75 623.15 7.50 2,264.40
9-11 2,450.63 934.73 11.25 3,396.61
12+ 3,267.50 1,246.30 15.00 4,528.80

Nonresidents of North Carolina

Hours Tuition Required Fees * Campus Security Fee Total
0-5 $3.110.38 $311.58 $3.75 $3,425.71
6-8 6,220.75 623.15 7.50 6,851.40
9-11 9,331.13 934.73 11.25 10,277.11
12+ 12,441.50 1,246.30 15.00 13,702.80

Residents of North Carolina

Hours Tuition Tuition Increment Required Fees * Campus Security Fee Total
0-5 $816.88 $175.00 $311.58 $3.75 $1,307.21
6-8 1,633.75 350.00 623.15 7.50 2,614.40
9-11 2,450.63 525.00 934.73 11.25 3,921.61
12+ 3,267.50 700.00 1,246.30 15.00 5,228.80

Nonresidents of North Carolina

Hours Tuition Tuition Increment Required Fees * Campus Security Fee Total
0-5 $3,110.38 $175.00 $311.58 $3.75 $3,600.71
6-8 6,220.75 350.00 623.15 7.50 7,201.40
9-11 9,331.13 525.00 934.73 11.25 10,802.11
12+ 12,441.50 700.00 1,246.30 15.00 14,402.80

* Students enrolled in the College of Engineering will be charged a COE Program Enhancement Fee. Undergraduates will be charged $750 (12 or more hours), $562.50 (9-11 hours), $375 (6-8 hours), and $187.50 (0-5 hours). See the Explanation of Tuition and Required Fees for additional information.

Fixed Tuition Program

Special Rates

  • Distance Education (DE) tuition charges are based on the student’s academic program and registration. For additional information, visit the Distance Education page.
  • Post-Baccalaureate Studies (PBS) students who enroll only in undergraduate (100-400 level) courses are charged at the undergraduate rate. PBS students who enroll in any graduate (500-800 level) course are charged at the graduate rate for all courses for which they are registered.
  • Cooperative Education students pay a program fee of $490.00 Students enrolled for both co-op and other course work must pay both rates.
  • Full-time faculty/staff must submit their completed waiver for a given semester to the Cashier’s Office no later than 5:00 p.m. on the Census Date. For additional guidelines, visit the Faculty Staff Tuition Waiver Regulations page.
  • Auditing a course carries the same fee as if the course were taken for credit. Visit the Audits page for additional information.