Academic Calendar

Search for the academic calendar that best fits your needs.

NOTE: This academic calendar is subject to periodic review and revision. Please check with the Student Services Center to determine if changes have been made.

Students enrolled in mini-courses with begin and end dates that differ from the regular 5-week and 10-week summer sessions should refer to their class syllabus and/or contact their instructor to verify the last day to drop a course without a grade.

2017 Spring Term

(Back to Top)

Regular Session Academic Calendar

January 9 Monday First day of classes
January 16 Monday Holiday (Martin Luther King, Jr. Day); university closed
January 17 Tuesday Classes resume at 8:30 a.m.
January 17 Tuesday Last day to add a course without permission
January 23 Monday Census Date/Official Enrollment Date
January 30 Monday Schedule for 2017 Summer terms published
March 3 Friday Schedule for 2017 Fall term published
March 6-10 Mon. – Fri. Spring Break
March 13 Monday Classes resume at 8:30 a.m.
March 13 Monday Drop/Revision Deadline
March 20 Monday Enrollment (Registration) for 2017 Fall term begins
April 14 Friday Spring Holiday for students; no classes
April 17 Monday Classes resume at 8:30 a.m.
April 24-28 Mon. – Fri. Last week of semester
April 28 Friday Last day of classes
May 3 Wednesday Reading Day
May 1-10 Mon.-Wed. Final Examinations
May 12 Friday Grades due by 11:59 p.m.
May 13 Saturday Spring Commencement Exercises

8-Week Session – First Session

January 9 Monday First day of classes
January 16 Monday Holiday (Martin Luther King, Jr. Day); university closed
January 23 Monday Census Date/ Official Enrollment Date
February 2 Thursday Drop/Revision Deadline
March 1 Wednesday Last day of classes
March 3 Friday Grades due by 11:59 p.m.

8-Week Session – Second Session

January 23 Monday Census Date/ Official Enrollment Date
March 2 Thursday First day of classes
March 6-10 Mon. – Fri. Spring Break
March 12 Monday Classes resume at 8:30 a.m.
March 14 Tuesday Last day for undergraduate students to drop a course without a W grade.
April 3 Monday Drop/Revision Deadline
April 14 Friday Spring Holiday for students; no classes
April 17 Monday Classes resume at 8:30 a.m.
April 28 Friday Last day of classes
May 12 Friday Grades due by 11:59 p.m.

2017 Maymester 3-Week Session

(Back to Top)

3-Week Session

May 17 Wednesday First day of classes
May 18 Thursday Last day to add a course without permission
May 19 Friday Census Date/ Official Enrollment Date
May 26 Friday Drop/Revision Deadline**
May 29 Monday Holiday (Memorial Day); university closed
June 6 Tuesday Last day of classes
June 8 Thursday Grades due by 11:59 p.m.

2017 Summer Session I

5-Week Session

May 17 Wednesday First day of classes
May 18 Thursday Last day to add a course without permission
May 19 Friday Census Date/Official Enrollment Date
May 29 Monday Holiday (Memorial Day); university closed
June 5 Monday Drop/Revision Deadline**
June 20 Tuesday Last day of classes
June 21-22 Wed. – Thurs. Final Examinations
June 26 Monday Summer I grades due by 11:59 p.m.

10-Week Session

May 17 Wednesday First day of classes
May 18 Thursday Last day to add a course without permission
May 19 Friday Census Date/Official Enrollment Date
May 29 Monday Holiday (Memorial Day); university closed
June 20 Tuesday Drop/Revision Deadline**
July 4 Tuesday Holiday (Independence Day); no classes; university closed
July 28 Friday Last day of classes
July-August 31-1 Mon. – Tue. Final Examinations
August 3 Thursday 10-week grades due by 11:59 p.m.

2017 Summer Session II

June 26 Monday First day of classes
June 27 Tuesday Last day to add a course without permission
June 28 Wednesday Census Date/Official Enrollment Date
July 4 Tuesday Holiday (Independence Day); university closed
July 13 Thursday Drop/Revision Deadline
July 28 Friday Last day of classes
July-August 31-1 Mon. – Tues. Final Examinations
August 3 Thursday Summer II grades due by 11:59 p.m.

2017 Fall Term

(Back to Top)

Regular Session Academic Calendar

August 16 Wednesday First day of classes
August 22 Tuesday Last day to add a course without permission
August 29 Tuesday Census Date/Official Enrollment Date
September 4 Monday Holiday (Labor Day); University closed
September 5 Tuesday Classes resume at 8:30 a.m.
October 5-6 Thu. – Fri. Fall Break
October 9 Monday Classes resume at 8:30 a.m.
October  9 Monday Schedule for 2017 Spring and Summer terms published
October 13 Friday Drop/Revision Deadline
November 22-24 Wed. – Fri. Thanksgiving Break; No classes
November-December 27-1 Mon. – Fri. Last week of semester
December 1 Friday Last day of classes
December 4-13 Mon. – Wed. Final Examinations
December 6 Wednesday Reading Day
December 15 Friday Grades due by 11:59 p.m.
December 15 Friday Fall Graduation Exercises

8-Week Session – First Session

August 16 Wednesday First day of classes
August 22 Tuesday Last day to add a course without permission
August 29 Tuesday Census Date/ Official Enrollment Date
September 4 Monday Holiday (Labor Day); University closed
September 5 Tuesday Classes resume at 8:30 a.m.
September 11 Monday Drop/Revision Deadline
October 10 Tuesday Last day of classes
October 12 Friday Grades due by 11:59 p.m.

8-Week Session – Second Session

August 29 Tuesday Census Date/ Official Enrollment Date
October 11 Wednesday First day of classes
November 3 Friday Drop/Revision Deadline
November 22-24 Wed. – Fri. Thanksgiving Break; No classes
November 27 Monday Classes resume at 8:30 a.m.
December 1 Friday Last day of classes
December 15 Friday Grades due by 11:59 p.m.

Calendar Terms

(Back to Top)

Last Day To Add Without Permission

Last day to add a course without permission of instructor. MyPack Portal closes for adds at 11:59 p.m. (After this day, please contact the instructor in order to add a class.)

Census Date

Census Date/Official Enrollment Date: Last day to add a course with permission of instructor. Last day for tuition refunds due to dropping a course or changing from credit to audit. Last day for undergraduate students to drop below 12 hours or to drop a course without a W grade.*

*Please note: For undergraduate students taking classes in the second 8-week session of the semester, the last day to drop below 12 hours or to drop a course without a W grade is NOT the same as the Census Date. Please consult the academic calendar.

Drop/Revision Deadline

Drop/Revision Deadline: MyPack Portal closes for student-initiated schedule revisions at 11:59 p.m. All schedule revisions made after this date will require a Schedule Revision form for processing. Last day to change to credit only at ALL levels. Last day for graduate and associate students to withdraw or drop a course, without a W grade, or to change from credit to audit.

**SUMMER ONLY: Last day to complete a self-service withdrawal in MyPack. Main Menu > Student Self Service > Enrollment > Term Withdrawal

Note: Students enrolled in mini-courses should consult the Eight-Week Calendar below regarding drop deadlines.

“Last Week of Semester”

“Last Week of Semester”: Lab tests, semester project reports and presentations are permissible during the final week of classes. Papers and homework may have a due date during the final week of classes only if scheduled in the syllabus. However, in order for students to prepare for final examinations, faculty members may not assign other tests, quizzes or additional papers during the final week of classes. Assignments should not have a due date during the final exam period unless the assignment constitutes a part of the final exam. Exceptions to this policy must be approved in advance by the department head and the dean of the college involved. Students should contact the appropriate instructor or department head if they believe an assignment is not in compliance with this regulation.